I need to change MY thinking

UUUGHGGHH! I just need him to understand HE IS wrong!! XD . I wanted to write this post yesterday and couldn’t focus on the idea of thinking better of my f r e a k i n g husband… Which I think shows more flaws in me.  You mean God has a plan and a way that I can think better of Ass holes, murders, and liers? No thank you. They deserve my wraith. (sigh) I might be more heathen than I want to think. Thank you Lord God Almighty for Jesus.

I knew I needed to look at him differently. See him as a sinner. Just like me, no sin is different- taking a candy out of Grandma’s glass bowl after being told no still cost the same punishment as gambling your families youngest brother for money. Eternity in hell. But he is supposedly saved, my husband. So what do I care? He isn’t going to hell. I see him as a Christian brother that needs to be convicted of his SIN (*hallelujah! Amen Sister*). I NEED him to understand he is going against   GGOODD!

Anyway, I read some stuff and got my thoughts straightened out. Knocked off my righteousness really. This is a good read, I struggle with the pure life people because they seem so very cold to the victims but, again I maybe wrong.The article is very short, please read the original (its link is below the quote).

So much of the help for wives available today focuses upon how they should erect boundaries to protect themselves from their husbands’ sin. And, kept in its proper place, this kind of teaching can be helpful. But my concern is that the underlying principle leads a woman to believe that protecting herself is the most vital issue involved. Are we becoming so wrapped up in self-preservation that we can no longer look outside ourselves at the very deep spiritual needs of others? Are we allowing temporal happiness to take precedence over the possibility of eternal damnation?

-Kathy Gallagher, pure life ministries

http://www.purelifeministries.org/blog/when-a-betrayed-wife-protects-herself

So I got humbled. I guess I’ve always been on the fence about once saved, always saved. I mean wasn’t Hitler a professing Christian?? Maybe it isn’t that people revert from saved to unsaved, but they were never really saved in the first place. I believe if you really understand your salvation you WILL change. I don’t think you have to do works to be saved, but if you aren’t it probably is a sign that your not saved. Works being-  not going against the 10 commandments, trying to act out the golden rule to strangers and people close to you, being honestly retentive when you do screw up, just a non entitled, unselfish, humble attitude. Cause really, you just got forgiven all your sin debts. I think I am a little in Awe of that.

The Pure Life article brought up, if your husband is acting like a royal douchbag (not a quote), he maybe cruising the highway to hell. He is not showing any respect for the sacrifice God gave to him, not listening to God’s guidance, or treating people with any sort of dignity maybe he isn’t saved. You may sit next to him a church, or pray with him at night but there are lot of Bible verse about understanding a persons heart by the fruit they produce.

There was this verse in Romans. Romans is still very difficult for me to understand:

 

Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. The mind governed by the flesh is hostile to God; it does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. Those who are in the realm of the flesh cannot please God.

You, however, are not in the realm of the flesh but are in the realm of the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God lives in you. And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, they do not belong to Christ. 10 But if Christ is in you, then even though your body is subject to death because of sin, the Spirit gives life[d] because of righteousness. 11 And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies because of[e] his Spirit who lives in you.

12 Therefore, brothers and sisters, we have an obligation—but it is not to the flesh, to live according to it. 13 For if you live according to the flesh, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live.

Romans 8:5-12

Whoa, I may need to read some commentary on that one.

Having fleshly desires proves you will not receive salvation? Or the mind governed by the flesh is hostile to God? I’ve been hostile to God. I don’t want to do what I am suppose to Do. Then there is Luke 3: 8-9.

Luke 3:8-9

“Therefore bear fruits in keeping with repentance, and do not begin to say to yourselves, ‘We have Abraham for our father,’ for I say to you that from these stones God is able to raise up children to Abraham. “Indeed the axe is already laid at the root of the trees; so every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire.”

I understand this was directed at the Jews explaining to them that they needed more than their heritage to save them. But maybe the real truth is we all need to fear for ourselves and our families and friends may  not receive salvation.

Maybe I don’t need him to understand he’s wrong, but we both need to understand we maybe set apart from Christ If our fruits don’t show different.

I hope the next post to be about -what fruits?! Maybe tomorrow. Maybe not.

 

I need to change MY thinking

Leave a Reply

